On the Come Up by Angie Thomas ( paperback Feb 2019)

£7.99

New York Times #1 bestselling teen author of The Hate You Give, Angie Thomas returns with a powerful story about hip hop, freedom of speech - and fighting for your dreams, even as the odds are stacked against you. Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. As the daughter of an underground hip hop legend who died right before he hit big, Bri's got massive shoes to fill.


But when her first song goes viral for all the wrong reasons, Bri finds herself at the centre of controversy and portrayed by the media as more menace than MC. And with an eviction notice staring her family down, Bri no longer just wants to make it - she has to. Even if it means becoming the very thing the public has made her out to be.

SKU:
More Details

Paper Avalanche, by Lisa Williamson

£10.99

When it comes to flying under the radar, Ro Snow is the expert. No friends. No boys.

No parties. And strictly NO VISITORS. It may be lonely but at least this way the truth remains where it should - hidden.
Then Tanvi Shah, the girl who almost died, comes tumbling back into her life and Ro finds herself losing control of her carefully constructed lies. Because if Ro's walls come crumbling down, who's going to take care of Bonnie... Bonnie.
Never Mum or Mummy or Mother. Just Bonnie.
Suitable for 14+. Family / home drama. Characters are in school / sixth form
SKU:
More Details

Friendship Fails of Emma Nash, by Chloe Seager

£7.99

Emma Nash is back....and determined to work out the world of friendships and relationships once and for all (...ish). `Great fun and full of laugh-out-loud moments. Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne.

Katy Birchall, author of the It Girl series Now she's in the sixth form, Emma's expecting life to be a breeze but when her best friend Steph suddenly has a boyfriend who she's spending more time with Emma's not sure what to do with herself. So Emma's got a mission in mind: making new friends. Signing up for the school fashion show seems like the perfect opportunity.

Although soon, through a series of mishaps that are absolutely not Emma's fault (well, sort of), her world is teetering on the edge of disaster again. Would going back to creating a life for herself online really be so bad?
SKU:
More Details

Kick the Moon, by Muhammad Khan

£7.99

A powerful, compelling novel from the critically-acclaimed author of I Am Thunder, about making friends, and breaking them too. Fifteen-year-old Ilyas is under pressure from everyone: GCSE's are looming and his teachers just won't let up, his dad wants him to join the family business and his mates don't care about any of it. There's no space in Ilyas' life to just be a teenager.

Serving detention one day, Ilyas finds a kindred spirit in Kelly Matthews, who is fed up with being pigeonholed as the good girl, and their friendship blows the social strata of high school wide open. But when Kelly catches the eye of one of the local bad boys, Imran, he decides to seduce her for a bet - and Ilyas is faced with losing the only person who understands him. Standing up to Imran puts Ilyas' family at risk, but it's time for him to be the superhero he draws in his comic-books, and go kick the moon.
 'Funny, angry, powerful' Patrice Lawrence, award-winning author of OrangeBoy

Khan's gift for authentic characters and believable dialogue makes his writing sing' Bookseller

SKU:
More Details

A Thousand Perfect Notes ( paperback)

£7.99

Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother.

He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken.

But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence. When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it? Thrilling and powerfully written, this is an explosive debut for YA readers which tackles the dark topic of domestic abuse in an ultimately hopeful tale.
SKU:
More Details

Star by Star, by Sheena Wilkinson (paperback)

£6.99

Stella has always looked forward to changing the world. It's what she was brought up to do, by a suffragette mother who knew all about fighting and rebellion. But it's November 1918.

The great flu pandemic sweeping the world has robbed Stella of her mother and her home, and she's alone in a strange country, with an aunt she's never met. But change is coming - the war is over, and women are about to vote for the first time. History is being made, but how can she help make it? As election day approaches, a day that will transform Ireland forever, Stella realises that she can indeed change the world.

Not alone, and not all at once. But just as stars come one by one to brighten the night sky, so history is made person by person, girl by girl. An invigorating tale of suffragettes and heroes, courage and survival, as war ends, flu sweeps the land - and women get to vote!
SKU:
More Details

The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas (paperback)

£7.99

Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2018 Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community.

It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl's struggle for justice.
SKU:
More Details

Who Do you Think you Are? By Pauline Burgess ( paperback)

£9.99

Since Magda moved from Poland to Belfast, her life has been little more than soggy schooldays and one long ‘Game of Stones’ courtesy of the local bullies. Her beloved grandfather shares in her misery. While the other family members adjust to Irish life, he spends his days in his attic room, dreaming of Poland. Yet he tells Magda that she must go out there and seize the opportunities Ireland has to offer. Then Magda meets Sophie, a new girl who looks set to become the most popular girl in Belview College, and at last Magda feels she might manage to fit in.But when does a friend become an enemy? And when is it OK to let go of the past and give the future a chance?
SKU:
More Details

Street Song, by Sheena Wilkinson (paperback)

£7.99

From Belfast based writer, with a keen ear for dialogue and a real insight into teenager's minds after a teaching career..... 

When life goes off-key, change your tune. RyLee's career is over. After winning a national TV talent show and becoming a teen pop sensation, his fame and success has quickly been followed by addiction, media scrutiny, and career suicide.


When he meets the stunningly witty but distinctly average guitar-player Toni almost directly outside his front door, the opportunity to start afresh seems too good to pass up. Before long, he has arrived in a new city, joined Toni's amazingly talented band, and reinvented himself under the name 'Cal'. For the first time in his life Ryan has friends around him, he's playing the music he's always wanted to play, and - despite living in a hostel, busking for his wages, and living under a false identity - he's finally happy.

But just when Ryan feels like he has truly started over, his past begins to catch up with him.

SKU:
More Details

Skellig, by David Almond

£7.99

Skellig won The Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children’s Book Award when it was first published almost 20 years ago.

It’s powerful and moving, one of those books that you can’t put down. 

Everyone should read it, not just teenagers.

SKU:
More Details

The Lost Witch, by Melvin Burgess ( hardback)

£12.99

Myth, magical realism and thriller type pace in this YA fantasy from the award winning author of ‘Junk’.

 

SKU:
More Details

I Capture The Castle, by Dodie Smith

£7.99

An absolute classic YA novel from the same Dodie Smith of ‘101 Dalmatians’ fame. The diary of Cassandra Mortmain, her extraordinary family and her crumbling castle home. Loved by teenagers and adults everywhere.

SKU:
More Details

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds, by Kelly McCaughrain (paperback)

£7.99

Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school

Recently shortlisted for the Great Reads Award, this debut YA novel is funny, warm hearted and encouraging for anyone who feels they just don’t fit ‘the mould’.

 

SKU:
More Details

The Island, by M.A. Bennett

£7.99

Seven students. One plane crash. No rules.

Gripping, pacy and contemporary, this is a YA read that is being hailed as the next Hunger Games. 

SKU:
More Details

Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes? By Holly Bourne

£7.99

Camp Reset - a summer camp with a difference. A trailblazing and painfully honest novel about mental health, friendship and making this crazy world a kinder place.

A teen/YA novel from the writer of Am I Normal Yet? 

SKU:
More Details