The Skylark’s War, by Hilary McKay ( paperback)

£6.99

Winner of the Costa Book Award 2018 - Children's category.

The Skylarks' War is a beautiful story following the loves and losses of a family growing up against the harsh backdrop of World War One, from the award-winning Hilary McKay. Clarry and her older brother Peter live for their summers in Cornwall, staying with their grandparents and running free with their charismatic cousin, Rupert. But as they grow older, and the War encroaches ever more on their lives, how will Clarry cope? 

I loved this book, it's warm, funny and touching - suits everyone from 8 to 80 I think! 

 

SKU:
More Details

What Do People Do All Day? By Richard Scarry

£6.99

Richard Scarry's classic has been a favourite with children the world over for 50 years. Share the magic of Scarry's Busytown with this beautiful anniversary edition. This special anniversary edition celebrates the 50th anniversary of a beloved Scarry classic.

Packed with things to spot on every page, What Do People Do All Day? is beautiful, fun and a favourite with children of all ages. Everyone is busy in Busytown - from train drivers to doctors, from mothers to sailors, in police stations and on fire engines. Follow lots of busy people working through their busy days! Captain Salty and his crew are getting ready to go on a voyage; Doctor Lion is busy at the hospital; Sergeant Murphy is working hard to keep things safe and peaceful; and engineers are building new roads.

Packed full of activity and funny details to discover, this celebration of Busytown and its inhabitants will keep curious minds occupied for hours on end! Perfect for ages 3 and up.
SKU:
More Details

Isadora Moon Goes to the Ballet by Harriet Muncaster

£5.99

 

Half vampire, half fairy, totally unique! Isadora Moon is special because she is different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and she is a bit of both. When her mum and dad come along on a school trip to the ballet, Isadora worries that they might not be like normal mums and dads.

But she has even bigger problems when Pink Rabbit goes missing. Will she be able to find him before the curtain rises?

Great for newly independent readers, girly but with a cheeky twist. These are very popular !

Also in the series : -

Goes Camping

Goes to School 

Has A Birthday 

Gets in Trouble 

Goes on a School Trip

Goes to the Fair

Makes Winter Magic

SKU:
More Details

Isadora Moon Goes to School by Harriet Muncaster

£5.99

Half vampire, half fairy, totally unique! Isadora Moon is special because she is different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and Isadora is a bit of both. She loves the night, bats, and the colour black, but she also loves the outdoors, using her magic wand, and the colour pink.

When it's time for Isadora to start school she's not sure where she belongs - vampire school or fairy school? This is a beautiful, charming, and funny series of first chapter books. Perfect for fans of Claude, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for newly independent readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

Also in the series : -

Goes Camping

Goes to the Ballet 

Has A Birthday 

Gets in Trouble 

Goes on a School Trip

Goes to the Fair

Makes Winter Magic

SKU:
More Details

Harry Potter series

£7.99

It has been over 20 years since Potter first broke into our consciousness, but he keeps going strong for new generations of 7 - 12 year olds, on repeat.

We always stock the classic 7 volumes in the series ( priced at £7.99 each), and you can also purchase 'House' branded colourways, and now a beautiful £30 illustrated edition of the first 3 books is also in existence, perfect for reading aloud to children. 

Just email or call for more information. 

SKU:
More Details

Circle by Jon Klassen and Mac Barnett

£12.99

From the dynamic, dream team of Jon Klassen and Mac Barnett comes the final instalment in the hilarious shape trilogy. Triangle and Square are visiting Circle, who lives at the waterfall. When they play hide-and-seek, Circle tells the friends the one rule: not to go behind the falling water.

But after she closes her eyes to count to ten, of course that's exactly where Triangle goes. Will Circle find Triangle? And what OTHER shapes might be lurking back there? Sparks the imagination, allows chat about hidden worries, and ultimately has style and humour.
SKU:
More Details

The Book Without A Story by Carolina Rabei (Paperback)

£6.99

A celebration of libraries, books and the joy of sharing stories, perfect for sharing before bedtime. When the library closes, and the last librarian has gone home to bed . . the books come alive and tell stories of their adventures, and their readers. But Dusty the book has never been borrowed and dreams of finding someone to share his story with ….Carolina Rabei's gorgeous artwork brings this magical story to life for children aged 3 years and up.

This is a lovely concept, in 'Toy Story' tradition of the books coming to life and talking about us instead. 

SKU:
More Details

I Capture The Castle, by Dodie Smith

£7.99

An absolute classic YA novel from the same Dodie Smith of ‘101 Dalmatians’ fame. The diary of Cassandra Mortmain, her extraordinary family and her crumbling castle home. Loved by teenagers and adults everywhere.

SKU:
More Details

Grandpa Christmas by Michael Morpurgo

£9.99

From renowned children’s author Michael  Morpurgo. This is a wonderfully illustrated, heartfelt book about a grandfather’s message to his granddaughter, explaining that we need to look after the Earth that we live on. 

SKU:
More Details

Winnie and Wilbur : The Santa Surprise by Laura Owen ( hardback)

£8.99

The best friends Winnie and Witch and her sidekick Wilbur the dog have decided that Santa deserves a gift this Christmas. A new story in a lovely gift hardback size, it’s perfect for new readers moving on to a longer story.

SKU:
More Details

Press Here, by Herve Tullet

£11.99

Press Here is an award winning invitation to press the yellow  button on the cover and start a fun and interactive story with colour and movement. Guaranteed to delight preschool children.

It works on a very simple premise but somehow never disappoints!

SKU:
More Details

Skychasers, by Emma Carroll

£6.99

This book hooks you in from the start. Emma Carroll writes strong believable characters and blends some history into the fiction. Magpie is a feisty and fun villain/ heroine. Perfect for 9-11’s.

SKU:
More Details

The Way Past Winter, by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

£10.99

Mila lives with her family in a small forest cabin. One night a fur clad stranger arrives seeking shelter- but by next morning he is gone and so is her brother Oskar. Mila and her sisters set out on an adventure to bring him back. 

Adventure and spirit - perfect for 8-11’s. From the award winning author of The Girl of Ink & Stars.

SKU:
More Details

Goodnight Moon

£6.99

This gentle bedtime story is an ideal first story to share. Comforting rhythm in the text and images, colours to notice and all the while winding down to sleep. A lovely baby or christening gift.

Available as board book or paperback, please ask.

SKU:
More Details

What Makes Me a Me?, by Ben Faulks

£6.99

Ben Faulks is best known as Mr Bloom from CBeebies. This charming book celebrates how different we all are in a humorous and inquisitive way.

SKU:
More Details

Mango & Bambang, ( series) by Polly Faber . Illustrations by Clara Vulliamy

£6.99

This is number one in a charming series of stories about a little girl Mango who befriends a tapir, who is lost in the city.

It’s the perfect length for bedtime and will charm parents and children alike. For fans of Paddington. Some lovely messages / themes but crafted beautifully into the storylines.

Suitable for 4-7 year olds

SKU:
More Details

Kids Birthday

£2.85

Always some cards in stock for the younger - or young at heart.

SKU:
More Details

The Bacteria Book

£9.99

By bestselling author, physics graduate and comedian Steve Mould. Perfectly balanced between ‘ew, gross’’ and “oh, cool!”.

Good photos, illustrations and fun facts 

SKU:
More Details

On the Farm, by Axel Sheffler ( board book)

£5.99

From the illustrator of The Gruffalo and other Julia Donaldson books, this is a charming board book with rhyming text, moveable parts and engaging illustrations on every page.

SKU:
More Details

Wonder, by RJ Palaccio

£7.99

Already made into a movie, this is a superb book. Funny and yet moving, it tells the story of August, a boy who is never going to ‘look normal’.

Recommended for boys and girls 9-12

SKU:
More Details