Passing The Torch, with Mary Peters ( paperback Oct 2019)

£12.99

An inspiring collection of all the women in Ireland who have done so much to foster sport and sports achievement. Proceeds to The Mary Peters Trust. 

SKU:
More Details

The Space We're In, by Katya Balen ( hardback September 2019)

£10.99

Frank is ten. He likes cottage pie and football and cracking codes.

Max is five. He eats only Quavers and some colours are too bright for him and if he has to wear a new T-shirt he melts down down down. Sometimes Frank wishes Mum could still do huge paintings of stars and asteroids like she used to, but since Max was born she just doesn't have time. When tragedy hits Frank and Max's lives like a comet, can Frank piece together a universe in which he and Max aren't light years apart? 

If you liked Wonder, or Marley and Me, this debut author will move and inspire you. 

SKU:
More Details

The Time of Green Magic, by Hilary McKay (hardback, Sept 2019)

£12.99

From acclaimed author and Costa winner Hilary McKay comes The Time of Green Magic: a beautiful, spell-binding novel about family, magic, an old house and a mysterious visitor . . .

Abi and her two step-brothers, Max and Louis, find that strange things happen when they are alone in their eerie, ivy-covered new house. Abi, reading alone, finds herself tumbling deep into books, while Louis summons a startling guest through his bedroom window. Even Max has started to see shapes in the shadows .

. . Their busy parents see none of it - but Louis' secret visitor is growing too alarming to keep secret, and he finds he cannot manage without Max and Abi's help. Can they find out where the mysterious creature has come from - and how to get it back there?

One of my favourite authors for aged 8+ readers.

SKU:
More Details

A Pinch of Magic, by Michelle Harrison ( paperback)

£6.99

'A SPELLBINDING STORY, STEEPED IN MAGIC. I ADORED IT' - Abi Elphinstone 
 'BRILLIANT' Emma Carroll, author of Letters From The Lighthouse

'This delightful tale fizzes with magic and races along at a fantastic pace. And at its heart is a powerful and beautiful message of sisterly love and loyalty overcoming jealousy and betrayal.

 

SKU:
More Details

The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree, by Paola Peretti

£6.99

A simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message' 

Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019. A novel for all ages about a young girl losing her sight, inspired by the author's own life story. For fans of Wonder, or The Little Prince.  Mafalda is a nine-year-old girl who knows one thing: some time in the next six months her sight will fail completely.

Can Mafalda find a way through a seemingly dark future and still go to school, play football and look after her beloved cat? With the help of her family, and her friends, Mafalda needs to discover the things that will be important to her when her sight has failed. A moving, empowering tale of courage and determination that will inspire young and old. It's uplifting and not depressing! 

SKU:
More Details

Friendship Fails of Emma Nash, by Chloe Seager

£7.99

Emma Nash is back....and determined to work out the world of friendships and relationships once and for all (...ish). `Great fun and full of laugh-out-loud moments. Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne.

Katy Birchall, author of the It Girl series Now she's in the sixth form, Emma's expecting life to be a breeze but when her best friend Steph suddenly has a boyfriend who she's spending more time with Emma's not sure what to do with herself. So Emma's got a mission in mind: making new friends. Signing up for the school fashion show seems like the perfect opportunity.

Although soon, through a series of mishaps that are absolutely not Emma's fault (well, sort of), her world is teetering on the edge of disaster again. Would going back to creating a life for herself online really be so bad?
SKU:
More Details

Paper Avalanche, by Lisa Williamson

£10.99

When it comes to flying under the radar, Ro Snow is the expert. No friends. No boys.

No parties. And strictly NO VISITORS. It may be lonely but at least this way the truth remains where it should - hidden.
Then Tanvi Shah, the girl who almost died, comes tumbling back into her life and Ro finds herself losing control of her carefully constructed lies. Because if Ro's walls come crumbling down, who's going to take care of Bonnie... Bonnie.
Never Mum or Mummy or Mother. Just Bonnie.
Suitable for 14+. Family / home drama. Characters are in school / sixth form
SKU:
More Details

The Usborne Book of Poetry edited by Sam Taplin

£12.99

A luxurious new treasury of poetry for children, featuring a selection of work from classic and modern poets including Shakespeare, Byron, Ted Hughes and Wendy Cope, alongside all new original poetry by Sam Taplin.

A great mix of traditional and contemporary, heartfelt and funny.

Suitable from 7+

SKU:
More Details

Pages & Co: Tilly and the Bookwanderers

£12.99

Tilly is 11 and since her mother’s disappearance she has found comfort in her grandparents bookshop. Suddenly Tilly’s adventures drift into the worlds of her story book heroes and she wonders if these new found abilities could solve the mystery of her mums disappearance. 

A thrilling, inventive book-lover’s delight. 

9+

SKU:
More Details

Tin, by Padraig Kenny

£6.99

Christopher is a real boy, who works for an engineer who makes the eccentric and loyal mechanicals who are Christopher’s best friends. But after an accident, a secret is revealed and his world changes for ever ....

Set in an ‘ alternate ‘ 1930’s England, this is an original and assured debut novel with a sci-fi flavour. 

Suitable for 9 ( min) and up to 14.

SKU:
More Details

Wonder, by RJ Palaccio

£7.99

Auggie just wants to be a normal 10 year old ... but as he was born with a facial abnormality he has been homeschooled by his parents his whole life. Now it’s time to face the real world and a normal school ... Wonder is a funny frank and astonishingly moving book. 

Suitable for both boys and girls 9-12.

SKU:
More Details

Skychasers, by Emma Carroll

£6.99

This book hooks you in from the start. Emma Carroll writes strong believable characters and blends some history into the fiction. Magpie is a feisty and fun villain/ heroine. Perfect for 9-11’s.

SKU:
More Details

The Way Past Winter, by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

£10.99

Mila lives with her family in a small forest cabin. One night a fur clad stranger arrives seeking shelter- but by next morning he is gone and so is her brother Oskar. Mila and her sisters set out on an adventure to bring him back. 

Adventure and spirit - perfect for 8-11’s. From the award winning author of The Girl of Ink & Stars.

SKU:
More Details

Splash, by Charli Howard ( paperback)

£6.99

Molly wants to become a champion swimmer. But sometimes friends - and mums - can get in the way. A family drama of friendship and celebrating who you are.

Recommended for girls 9-10.

SKU:
More Details